Peterborough Civic Society

Plaque 8    Sessions House, Thorpe Road ...continued
The gaol was then under the King's Lodging by the Minister Foregate. The Bishop's privileges were acquired in 1576 by Lord Burghley (who lived in Burghley House within the Hundred of Nassaburgh). Gradually, they became enshrined in the authority granted to each of the Liberty Magistrates, a situation which, after 1874, was unique. The Sessions House was designed by W J Donthorpe and built in 1842 as a courthouse, with the gaol behind. The gaol was demolished in 1961 and the Magistrates moved to a new courthouse in Bridge Street in 1978. (see Plaque 5)
...continued

Plaque 9  >

Home | Contacts | Talks | Activities | Plaques

Site hosted by www.peterborough.net