Peterborough Civic Society

Plaque 11    198 Park Road
The unique house which formerly stood on this site was built in 1891 for Henry Hicks, a local builder and brick company director. In 1897, it became the High School for Girls, a private school run by Miss Mary Florence (May) Hill until 1919 when she retired in favour of Miss Amy Mansfield. The school closed in 1935 but was later re-established at Westwood House in Thorpe Road. After the school left, 198 Park Road became the Manager's Office for the Post Office Telephone Service and remained in use until the early 1980s. In 1987/88 the present block of flats was built on the site and named after William Nichols, tenant of the house from 1892 to 1897, three times Mayor of Peterborough and Director of Peterborough Land Company who constructed Park Road.
< Plaque 10

Plaque 12  >

Home | Contacts | Talks | Activities | Plaques

Site hosted by www.peterborough.net